Dr Angus Turner wins Professions Award

APM was delighted to present Dr Angus Turner with the Professions Award at this year’s Western Australian of the Year Awards.

Dr Turner was named the award winner at the annual ceremony to recognise and celebrate people who make outstanding contributions to Western Australia.

APM sponsored the Professions Award to celebrate excellence resulting in major social, scientific or economic impact at a state, national or international level.

Organised by not-for-profit organisation Celebrate WA, the annual awards open a weekend of events including WA Day Festivals across the state and the SOTA Festival.

The events celebrate the best of Western Australia and promote inclusivity for everyone in the community – which aligns with APM’s values and purpose of enabling better lives.

Dr Turner was recognised for his work providing sight-saving treatment to people in WA’s most isolated communities.

“With nearly 100,000 people residing in the North West, there should be three full-time ophthalmologists to match the levels of staffing in the urban areas, but there is none,” Dr Turner said.

Dr Turner is fundraising for a regional hub in Broome to help patients from Karratha to Kununurra. It is hoped phase one of the complex will be launched next year.

There were 28 finalists selected for their work in seven categories.

James McMahon won the Community Award and was named Western Australian of the Year.

Celebrate WA chairman and APM Group CEO Mike Anghie said Mr McMahon exemplifies the very best of Western Australia.

"His dedication, selflessness and compassion are values we should all strive towards, and his impact on the community cannot be overstated,” he said.

“I also congratulate all of the category winners, whose outstanding achievements in their respective fields really do represent the diversity of talent present in Western Australia”.

The 2019 award winners were:

  • Aboriginal Award – Glen Kelly
  • Arts and Culture Award – Bourby Webster
  • Business Award – Dr Erica Smyth AC
  • Community Award – James McMahon DSC DSM
  • Professions Award – Dr Angus Turner
  • Sport Award – Samantha Kerr
  • Youth Award – Harrison Garland