APM awards innovation in preventing harm

Published on 13 Apr 2018


APM has recognised the outstanding achievements in preventing harm and bullying as part of this year’s national No More Harm Conference.

As part of the Strategy To Action Awards Recognition (STAAR), APM’s National Partnership Manager, Sheree Holdsworth, presented the 2018 Innovative Solutions Award to The Salvation Army Tasmania.

The award recognised the achievements of The Salvation Army Tasmania’s Start Today Again project which supports fathers in healing relationships after incidents of family violence.

The No More Harm Conference is being held across two days at Pullman Melbourne on the Park to share ideas and insights into solutions for harmful and discriminating behaviour.

The event brings together professionals, researchers and practitioners to discuss behaviours and attitudes that are harmful to others in the home, workplace, school and other social settings.

Sponsors and exhibitors at the event include APM who are promoting the Disability Employment Services program which helps people with an injury, illness or disability find a job.

The program offers participants access to support in seeking employment and managing mental and physical health issues.

Other winners of the No Harm Conference 2018 STAAR Awards include:

2018 Stop School Bullying Award – sponsored by The Power of Me

  • Winner: Ms Erin Erceg, Friendly Schools Australia
  • Project: Friendly Schools

2018 Cyber Smart Award – sponsored by the Office of the eSafety Commissioner

  • Winner: Mrs Sally-Anne Hill, Point Cook P-9 College
  • Project: PCC Cyber Mascot Program

2018 Healthier Workplace Award – sponsored by Bullyology

  • Winner: Kathie Melocco and Belinda Khier, The Respect Campaign
  • Project: Cyber Health and Safety Summit

2018 No More Harm Education Award – sponsored by Australian & New Zealand Mental Health Association

  • Winner: Ms Anoushka Dowling, Mate Bystander Program
  • Project: MATE Bystander Program

2018 Community Engagement Award – sponsored by Australian & New Zealand Mental Health Association

  • Winner: Julie Harper and Nilmini Fernando, Launch Housing
  • Project: The Purse Project & Teachable Moments Research Report